Sesame (Success by Sesame) review
A flat-fee, cash-only program where you choose your own provider and most labs are included. It suits people paying for care themselves; it does not bill insurance for visits, and the medicine is always extra.
Research-based review: nobody from GLPLens signed up, paid or received medication. Everything below comes from Sesame (Success by Sesame)'s own pages and FDA, read Sep 28, 2026. How we score.
92 / 100
- What it prescribes
- 40 / 40 FDA-approved brand-name medicines only
- Published prices
- 20 / 20 Membership and medication prices published
- Commitment
- 20 / 20 Cancel anytime
- Insurance
- 10 / 10 Says insurance can pay for the medication
- Where it operates
- 2 / 10 States not stated
Good
- You choose the provider from Sesame's marketplace
- Month-to-month plan, cancel anytime; cheaper if you prepay
- Lab work at Quest is included in most states
- Publishes cash prices for each brand-name GLP-1 it prescribes
- Costco members get 10% off the program
Watch out for
- Medication is not included in the subscription
- Does not bill health insurance for the program itself
- Labs are not included in nine states
- A few prices on its page differ from the makers' own pages
What it is
Success by Sesame is the weight-loss program run by Sesame, a website where patients book and pay for doctor visits directly, outside insurance [28]. You answer a short questionnaire and then pick your own provider [5]. If you are prescribed a medicine, you can pick it up the same day at a local pharmacy or have it delivered [6].
The program charges one subscription for the clinical care. Sesame’s guide for its providers says follow-up video visits are included and patients can book them as often as they like [27].
What it prescribes
Sesame names Foundayo, Wegovy and Zepbound as the GLP-1 options in the program [7]. Its semaglutide page says compounded semaglutide is not currently available through Sesame [8], so this review treats it as a brand-name-only program.
What it costs
The subscription is $99 a month on the month-to-month plan [1], and drops to $59 a month on an annual plan [2]. There are also 6-month and 3-month prepaid plans [3]. The same page also says the month-to-month plan is billed every 28 days [4], which would mean thirteen charges a year instead of twelve, so ask Sesame which applies before you sign up.
The subscription includes lab work done at Quest, except in AZ, HI, ND, NJ, NY, OK, RI, SD and WY [19]. It does not include medicine [9].
Sesame publishes a cash price for each drug and says brand-name options start at $149 a month [10]. A few of its figures differ from the makers’ own pages:
- Wegovy pill: Sesame shows $149 for both the 1.5 mg and 4 mg doses [11]. NovoCare lists $199 for 4 mg [12].
- Wegovy pen: $199 for the first two months for new patients, then $349 [13].
- Zepbound KwikPen: Sesame lists $499 for 7.5 mg and $698 for the higher doses [14]. LillyDirect lists $449 for 7.5 mg and up when you refill within 45 days [15].
For a full first-year total with every fee, see our Sesame cost page.
On insurance, Sesame does not bill health insurance for the program [16]. Insurance may still pay for the medicine [17], and your provider handles prior-authorization paperwork [18]. Sesame says most services in the subscription may qualify for HSA or FSA reimbursement [20].
Costco members
Sesame has member pricing for Costco shoppers. To get it, you create a Sesame account and verify your Costco membership through your Costco.com login [32]. For the weight-loss program, the Costco benefit is a discount, not a separate plan: Sesame says Costco members get 10% off Success by Sesame, alongside set prices for other visits [29]. People already enrolled in Sesame’s older Costco Weight Loss program can stay on it with no change to their benefits [30] and keep paying $179 every 3 months [31]. Sesame describes that price only for people already enrolled.
The medicine is bought separately at Costco Pharmacy, with a prescription that can come from Success by Sesame [35]. Sesame says self-paying Costco members can get Wegovy or Ozempic injections for $349 per 4-week supply [33], and that people new to either drug pay $199 a month for the first two months [34]. Those match the Wegovy pen prices on Sesame’s main program page [13]. Costco’s pharmacy site files its GLP-1 prices under Costco Member Value Pricing [36], so you need an active Costco membership for both the program discount and the pharmacy price. Ozempic’s approved uses differ from Wegovy’s; see approved uses.
Signing up and cancelling
You can cancel the subscription yourself at any time; cancel before the next billing cycle to avoid the next charge [21]. Sesame’s terms set a firmer cutoff of 48 hours before renewal [22], so leave a margin of a few days.
If you cancel at least 3 hours before your first visit, you get a full refund; once that visit has happened, the first month is not refunded [23]. Past months are never refunded [24]. If you leave a prepaid 3-, 6- or 12-month plan early, Sesame recalculates what you used at the month-to-month rate and refunds any balance [25].
Safety and regulatory record
Sesame prescribes brand-name medicines only for this program [8], filled by a pharmacy you choose. GLPLens searched FDA’s warning-letter database in September and found no letter to Sesame about GLP-1 products. Its terms say the service is meant for users in the United States [26]; the program pages do not publish a list of states, so we count its coverage as not stated.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Sesame suits self-pay patients who want a clinician they chose themselves, predictable program fees and labs included. If you plan to stay a year, the annual plan is the cheapest way in.
Look elsewhere if you want insurance to pay for the visits, or if you live in one of the nine states where labs are not included and you have no insurance to cover them. Compare the medicine price with LillyDirect and NovoCare before the first fill.
Sources
Month-to-Month Plan: Billed every month at $99 per month.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.The Success by Sesame subscription starts at just $59 per month with an annual subscription
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.6-Month Plan: Billed every 6 months, offering a savings of $180 every 6 months. 3-Month Plan: Billed every 3 months, offering a savings of $60 every 3 months.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Month-to-Month Plan: Billed every 28 days
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Fill out a brief questionnaire to see how much weight you could lose and personalize your weight loss program, then choose your provider.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.If medication is prescribed, you can pick up your Rx same-day at your preferred local pharmacy, or opt for home delivery instead.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Explore GLP-1 options like Foundayo, Wegovy & Zepbound, with same-day prescriptions and seamless Rx refills.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Compounded semaglutide is not currently available through Sesame.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Medication costs are not included in the subscription price and will vary based on your insurance status and pharmacy.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.brand-name GLP-1 options start at $149/month without insurance
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.$149 per / mo. (1.5mg, 4mg) or $299/mo (9mg, 25mg)
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Patients pay $149 for each month of 1.5 mg, $199 per month for 4 mg, and $299 per month for 9 mg and 25 mg.
novocare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.$199 per / mo. for first two months (new Wegovy® patients only), then $349/mo after.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.$299 per / mo. (2.5mg), $398/mo (5mg), $499/mo (7.5mg), $698/mo (10mg, 12.5mg, 15mg)
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.7.5 mg/0.6 mL Self-pay price: Starting at $449/month* when you refill within 45 days†
lilly.com, read Sep 27, 2026.we do not bill health insurance in order to keep prices affordable for all.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.If you do have insurance, you may be able to use it to cover the cost of any prescribed weight loss drugs.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Your Sesame provider will work directly with your insurance to handle any prior authorization paperwork and help reduce your out-of-pocket costs for your weight loss medication.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Your Success by Sesame subscription includes the cost of lab work completed at Quest Diagnostics facilities, except for those in AZ, HI, ND, NJ, NY, OK, RI, SD and WY.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.most of the services within your subscription may be eligible for reimbursement
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.You can self-cancel your subscription at any point. To avoid future charges, cancellation must occur before the next billing cycle starts.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.You may cancel your subscription to Membership Services at any time up to forty-eight (48) hours before the applicable renewal processing date of your subscription
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.If you sign up for Sesame's weight loss program and cancel at least 3 hours prior to your initial visit start time, you will receive a full refund. No refunds will be issued for the first month if the initial visit has occurred.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Fees paid for previous months are not refundable.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.If you cancel prior to completing the full subscription term, your subscription will be adjusted to reflect the then-current standard Monthly Membership Services subscription rate (the “standard month-to-month rate”) for each month of service provided, including any partial month in which the subscription remained active, and any remaining balance after this adjustment will be refunded to your original payment method.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.US Use Only: Sesame services are only intended for users in the United States.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Free scheduled video follow-ups are included with the patient's subscription. Patients can book follow-up visits at any time and at any frequency.
help.sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Sesame is the #1 place to save on in-person and video doctor visits, dentistry, imaging, and more - without insurance mark-ups, surprise bills, or hidden fees.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 27, 2026.Yes, Costco members will continue to get the best price on the majority of Sesame services, including $29 primary care visits, $79 virtual therapy visits, $72 health checks and 10% off other Sesame services, including the Success by Sesame weight loss program.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 28, 2026.If you're already enrolled in the Costco Weight Loss program, you can continue without any changes to your benefits.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 28, 2026.You will continue to be billed at a rate of $179 every 3 months.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 28, 2026.Before you can access your Costco member pricing on Sesame, Costco members will need to create an account and verify their Costco membership via their Costco.com account.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 28, 2026.self-pay patients can now get 50% off Ozempic and Wegovy injections – just $349 for a 4-week supply – at Costco Pharmacy with an active prescription.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 28, 2026.And if you're new to Ozempic or Wegovy, your first two months of treatment will cost just $199 per month
sesamecare.com, read Sep 28, 2026.Costco Members can unlock this benefit at Costco Pharmacy with a prescription for Ozempic or Wegovy through Sesame’s weight loss program, Success by Sesame.
sesamecare.com, read Sep 28, 2026.Exclusive savings with Costco Member Value Pricing.
costco.com, read Sep 28, 2026.
Other reviews: all programs, scored the same way. Real users' experiences: reader stories.